Skip to main content
Audio Stream

BT18 Workshop 10 - Asking "How" Questions, Making Distinctions, and Defining Targets in Brief Therapy: The Discriminating Therapist - Michael Yapko, PhD

Average Rating:
Not yet rated
Topic Areas:
Workshops |  Brief Therapy |  Psychology |  Therapist Development
Brief Therapy Conference |  Brief Therapy Conference 2018
Michael Yapko, PhD
Audio Only
Original Program Date:
Dec 07, 2018
Never expires.



Cognitive psychology has given rise to new understandings about how people gather and use information. This includes how people decide, usually at a level outside of awareness, what to pay attention to in a given environment and, likewise, what can be deemed irrelevant. One good “how” question can bring into sharp focus what the client doesn’t know—or knows that isn’t so—that’s working against him or her in some debilitating way. This highly practical workshop will focus on the “how” question as a vehicle for identifying the specific discriminations—key elements that distinguish good options from poor ones—that a client can learn to make that will lead to better decisions and a better quality of life.

Educational Objectives:

  1. Assess the role of cognitive style in decision-making.
  2. Describe the role of global cognitions in client problems. 
  3. Identify key discriminations that underlie specific clinical presentations.

*Sessions may be edited for content and to preserve confidentiality*



Michael Yapko, PhD's Profile

Michael Yapko, PhD Related Seminars and Products

Michael D. Yapko, Ph.D. (professional psychology, clinical specialization), is internationally recognized for his innovative work in applied clinical hypnosis, developing brief psychotherapies, and the strategic treatment of depression. He has been invited to present his work in more than 30 countries across six continents. He is the author of 15 books, including his most recent, The Discriminating Therapist. He is a recipient of numerous awards for his many contributions to the field, including the Milton H. Erickson Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award.